Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Breaking News: President Tinubu Allocates Portfolios to Screened Ministerial Nominees.. . . Anger in the North as El-Rufai’s Name is Conspicuously Absent !

President Tinubu Allocates Portfolios to Screened Ministerial Nominees.. . . Anger in the North as El-Rufai’s Name is Conspicuously Absent !

By Our Reporter

At first glance and in many areas of discussion especially on social media, radio and TV stations, the reaction from a large segment of Nigerians to the list of ministers released this evening by the government is that of anger and disappointment with the government over the non inclusion of the name of Nasir El-Rufai.

This sentiment is quite noticeable in the North as the names of each minister and portfolio assigned became public knowledge.

Below are names of the new ministers and portfolios assigned to each minister.

Nyesom Wike – FCT Minister

Festus Keyamo – Minister of Aviation

Adebayo Adelabu- Minister Of Power

Adegboyega Oyetola – Minister of Transportation

Dele Alake- Minister of Solid Minerals

Muhammed Idris – Minister of Information

Mohammed Badaru- Minister of Defence

Minister of State, Defense – Bello Mattawale

Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy – Wale Edun

Minister of Works- Dave Umahi

Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare – Ali Pate

Minister of Agriculture and food security -Abubakar kyari

Minister of Youths- Abubakar Momoh

Minister of Communications and Digital Economy – Bosun

Minister of Foreign Affairs – Yusuf Tuga

Minister of Budget and Economic planning – Atiku Bagudu

Minister of Water resources and sanitation – Joseph utsve

Minister of Steel development – Shuaibu Audu

Minister of State, Agriculture – Sabi Abdullahi

Minister of Trade and investment – Doris Anieete

Minister of Humanitarian affairs and poverty alleviation – Betta Edu

Minster or Sport – John Eno

Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy – Bunmi Tunji Ojo

Minister of Labor and employment – Simon Lalong

Minister of Tourism – Lola Adejo

Minister of Special duties – Zapahnnaih Gazzalo

Minister of Transportation- Adegboyega Oyetola.

A closer scrutiny of the ministerial list and portfolios assigned per geo-political zone, the 6 sub-regions got the following number of senior ministers and ministers of state:

1. North-West sub-region has 10 Ministers; 5 Senior Ministers and 5 Ministers of State.

2. North-East sub-region has 6 Ministers; 5 Senior Ministers and 1 Minister of State.

3. North-Central sub-region has 8 Ministers; 6 Senior Ministers and 2 Minister of State.

4. South-West sub-region has 9 Ministers; 7 Senior Ministers and 2 Minister of State.

5. South-South sub-region has 7 Ministers; 5 Senior Ministers and 2 Minister of State.

6. South-East sub-region has 5 Ministers; 4 Senior Ministers and 1 Minister of State.

A few of the screened ministers are yet to be assigned portfolios.
Prominent among them is the former Governor of Kaduna State, Mallam Nasiru El-Rufai who was screened by the senate but a security report which sought to indict him later emerged this setting the stage for controversy and finger pointing against certain officials and individuals accused of being responsible for the unprecedented action against a ministerial nominee which is viewed by many as sabotage.

The portfolios distribution per 6 geo-political zones is clearly representative and can be said to be fair.

Each zone got ministers according to its size and contribution to the winning ticket


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


El-Rufai: Tough on the Job but Never Deficient in Humanity By Terna Francis Ph.D …By the time I returned to Kaduna state, where I...

Northern Nigeria

Katsina – Daura Unity and Progress Forum Holds an International Press Conference on the 12th of August, 2023   Katsina-Daura Unity and Progress Forum...


EXCLUSIVE : Gawuna Hosts Ganduje in a Closed Door Meeting in Abuja. . . By our Reporter The National Chairman of the APC and...


Court of Appeal, Abuja Division Throw Out Abba Gida-Gilda’s Interlocutory Appeal Against Ruling of the Justice Oluyemi Akintan-Osadebey led Kano Election Petition Tribunal .....